Zilker Neighborhood Gardens

Commentary by a National Wildlife Steward who helps Zilker neighbors establish native plant gardens

It’s My Park Day – Saturday, March 5th

This Saturday, March 5th, is It’s My Park Day – a day to give back to the beautiful parks in Austin, TX.

Please, please consider volunteering – check out their website to find the perfect volunteer match. There are even “dog-friendly” and “child/family-friendly” opportunities. You can search by zip code (search on bottom and results show up on bottom) to find the events nearest to your home. Personally, I volunteered for Zoila’s project to mulch heritage trees in Barton Springs pool area – but I just looked at there are no more slots open for that project (yeah! – thanks volunteers!).

Please consider even if you don’t have the full amount of time. I am only helping for 1.5 hours because I am presenting at a conference later on Saturday at UT. But I couldn’t miss It’s My Park Day because I know how much I use our parks.

Last year, I volunteered along Shoal Creek between 3rd and 8th streets. We picked up garbage, and garbage we did pick up. Check out our pile! It feels great to get something done.

Picture of garbage

 

Leave a Reply

